Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
  Season 1982
  Season 1983
    WRC Calendar
    Rule changes
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
  Season 1996
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
  Season 2011
  Season 2012
  Season 2013
  Season 2014
  Season 2015
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
  Season 2018
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 1983
Mikkola finally makes it
After many years in the highest level of international rallying, Hannu Mikkola finally clinches the championship title. His road to title is hampered by apalling reliability of the Audi quattro and less than perfect work of team's mechanics but as much helped by the fact that no other driver had as extensive programme as he had.

In manufacturers series Lancia outsmarts giant Audi team and wins their fourth title. Audi loses the title by mere two points even though each marque wins equal number of rallies. Explanation of course being that one of Audi's five wins is from non-championship round of Sweden.

New cars
Audi debuted many new cars during the year, from smaller Group A 80 quattro intended for privateers to two new versions of their Group B quattro. First one was the intermediate A1 version which was soon replaced by A2.

Toyota introduced Celica Twincam Turbo and won Ivory Coast with it. After homologation problems, Opel switched from Ascona 400 to lighter Manta 400 but unfortunately it was not so successful as it's precessor had been.

1983 FIA World Rally Champion, Hannu Mikkola.
Drivers scoring their
first win
  no new winners
first drivers' point
  F. Serpaggi (Monte Carlo)
  L. Walfridsson (Sweden)
  A. Vudafieri (Portugal)
  A. Zanini (Portugal)
  M. Duez (Portugal)
  W. Siller (Safari)
  M. Shah (Safari)
  P. de Voest (Safari)
  J. Couloumies (Corsica)
  J. Guyot (Corsica)
  J. Ravenel (Corsica)
  M. Chomat (Acropolis)
  P. Wambergue (Acropolis)
  P. Bourne (New Zealand)
  M. Bish (New Zealand)
  P. Watt (New Zealand)
  M. Cameron (New Zealand)
  F. Wurtz (Argentina)
  C. Celis (Argentina)
  G. del Campo (Argentina)
  J. Kankkunen (Finland)
  M. Sundstrom (Finland)
  G. Noberasco (San Remo)
  J. Buffum (Great Britain)
  M. Holmbom (Great Britain)
first stage win
  S. Andervang (Great Britain)