Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
  Season 1982
  Season 1983
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
    WRC Calendar
    Rule changes
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
  Season 1996
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
  Season 2011
  Season 2012
  Season 2013
  Season 2014
  Season 2015
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
  Season 2018
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 1986
Magic of 1986
Another year and another Peugeot new-comer is crowned as a champion. Like in previous season, the new recruit stole the lime-light from the established team-mate. Juha Kankkunen had moved to Peugeot from Toyota and was not expected to adjust just so easily to a supercar.

In 1986 season the development of the rally cars reached it's peak, technology and performance begun to rival even that of Formula 1. Season got off to a fine start when all the supercar teams except Ford arrived to Monte Carlo to wrestle for the supremacy. Henri Toivonen scored an impressive win, 20 years after his father had won the same event. Soon things turned sour, though.

Deaths, bans, exclusions, controversy; words of 1986. Three spectators were killed in Portugal, Henri Toivonen and Sergio Cresto in Corsica. As a response, Group B was promptly banned. Peugeot was then excluded from San Remo Rally before the end, setting the stage for controversial final in drivers' championship.

San Remo affair brought much shame to organisers when FISA later annulled the results. Similar shame fell on FISA when in one night swift and sweeping changes were hammered through after Corsican tragedy. Not to mention how FISA officials threatened withdrawing drivers with loss of competition license in Portugal, prompting Walter Rohrl to announce that "we are not killers".

New cars
Citroen BX 4TC debuted in Monte Carlo and Ford RS200 in Sweden. Former started in Monte Carlo, Sweden and Acropolis before it was deemed uncompetitive and project was shelved. Ban on Group B propably had a lot to do with it also. RS200-project was late and car ran in basic form without benefit of planned evolutions (as did Lancia Delta S4 too, incidentally). It showed some surprisingly good speed but was unreliable and was destined to disappear after 1986 like rest of the Group B cars.

Juha Kankkunen
(Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window)
1986 FIA World Rally Champion, Juha Kankkunen Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window
Drivers scoring their
first win
  J. Moutinho (Portugal)
  B. Saby (Corsica)
  M. Biasion (Argentina)
first drivers' point
  A. Oreille (Monte Carlo)
  R. Ericsson (Sweden)
  G. Recordati (Portugal)
  A. Segurado (Portugal)
  R. Fernandes (Portugal)
  A. Coutinho (Portugal)
  G. Criticos (Safari)
  J. Torre (Corsica)
  M. Neri (Corsica)
  G. Casanova (Corsica)
  R. Stohl (Acropolis)
  N. Allport (New Zealand)
  J. Celsi (Argentina)
  R. Ulyate (Ivory Coast)
  P. Copetti (Ivory Coast)
  M. Yace (Ivory Coast)
  D. Llewellin (Great Britain)
  P. Alessandrini (USA - Olympus)
  C. Smith (USA - Olympus)
  P. Choiniere (USA - Olympus)
first stage win
  M. Rayneri (Portugal)
  J. Moutinho (Portugal)
  C. Bica (Portugal)
  J. Ortigao (Portugal)
  G. del Zoppo (Portugal)
  A. Turiani (Portugal)
  F. Chatriot (Corsica)
  M. Ericsson (Finland)