Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
  Season 1982
  Season 1983
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
  Season 1996
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
  Season 2011
  Season 2012
  Season 2013
    WRC Calendar
    Rule changes
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
      Points finishes
      Stage wins
      Rally leaders
      Event statistics
      Stage statistics
      Entry statistics
  Season 2014
  Season 2015
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
  Season 2018
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 2013 > Season statistics
Name is same but team is not

Season's winningest driver still was Sebastien but this year one at Volkswagen. Ogier continued with same domination that we have accustomed to with Loeb, winning almost all rallies of the season and being on podium on all but two occasions.

On winner's list, it is interesting to note that Citroen's Hirvonen didn't win at all while Sordo scored his first win and Loeb won half of his four outings. Ford's lack of wins is no surprise due to their young line-up and lack of factory support.
Consistency or speed

Volkswagen, though a new car, was so reliable that both Ogier and Latvala scored on all of their rallies except one. Ogier was not alone in his 100% scoring ratio though, last year's sensation Mads Ostberg also finished every rally he started and on points. Unfortunately for him, those scores were mainly on the lower end of the scale and did not translate to a correspondingly large total points haul. Two other young Ford drivers Neuville and Novikov weren't far away either, both missing points scoring only twice.
Dominance across the board

While Ogier's win ratio was impressive, on stage wins his dominance is staggering, scoring fastest time on 46% stages of the season. Even mighty Sebastien Loeb managed at best 43% (in 2005).

On rally leaders, Volkswagen's dominance is crushingly evident. Together, Ogier and Latvala led rally for three out of four stages. In fact, this is even a little disappointing as VW's winning score was better that their rally leading score.

On the other end of the spectrum is Hirvonen, who won only ten stages and led twice.

Overall speed was somewhat slower than in 2012 but same rallies featured again on the list, Finland being fastest and Alsace retained their a little surprising second place. Monte Carlo and Portugal traded places as Monte was now slowest while Portugal was on the middle of the group, result having been reverse in 2012.

Finland's claim for fastest stages was challenged not only by Alsace but also Australia and Sweden. Argentina no longer had a monster stage but still featured on list of longest stages. A list which indicated that the trend for shorter rallies had indeed stopped.

Number of entries was somewhat better than in previous year, which could be a positive sign or a statistical fluctuation. French were the most numerous nationality and Ford the most popular make of the car during the year, both being the same as last year.
Sebastien Ogier
(Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window)
King of statistics in 2013 was Sebastien Ogier, in every category. Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window