Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Current WRC teams
      All-time team statistics
      Rally cars
        Corolla (G2)
        Celica 2000GT
        Celica TC Turbo
        Celica GT-4 (ST165)
        Celica Tbo 4WD (ST185)
        Celica GT-Four (ST205)
        Corolla WRC
        Yaris WRC
        GR Yaris
      Toyota Team Europe
  Private teams
  Past WRC teams
  Home > Teams > Current WRC teams > Toyota > Rally cars > Celica GT-4 (ST165)
Toyota Celica GT-4
With Celica GT-4, Toyota finally fielded a modern rally car able to compete against top teams in all WRC events and in all conditions. Celica GT-4 was Toyota first four-wheel driver rally car and despite team's long involvement in WRC, their relative inexperience with the new technology led to long run of trouble. Car first competed in middle of 1988 but did not win until end of next year.

Technologically quite advanced, car was fitted with new Xtrac transmission and had hydraulic centre differential. Advantages offered by the new technology were promising but in reality, unreliability and inconsistency problems were very common, especially early on. As TTE was also growing as a team, it was no wonder that team's lead driver Juha Kankkunen had decided to move back to Lancia by the time he scored car's first win in 1989 Australia.

Car's reliability increased with development and from 1990 season, team was able to win consistently with the car, propelling Carlos Sainz to drivers' title.

Debut WRC event: Corsica 1988
Best WRC result: 1st by Juha Kankkunen in Australia 1989
 1st by Bjorn Waldegard in Safari 1990
 1st by Carlos Sainz in Acropolis 1990
 1st by Carlos Sainz in New Zealand 1990
 1st by Carlos Sainz in Finland 1990
 1st by Carlos Sainz in Great Britain 1990
 1st by Carlos Sainz in Monte Carlo 1991
 1st by Carlos Sainz in Portugal 1991
 1st by Carlos Sainz in Corsica 1991
 1st by Carlos Sainz in New Zealand 1991
 1st by Carlos Sainz in Argentina 1991
 1st by Armin Schwarz in Catalunya 1991
 1st by Mats Jonsson in Sweden 1992
Rallies contested: 34  (works entries)
WRC starts: 75  (works entries)
Outright wins: 13  (wins to rallies ratio 38.2%)
Podiums: 32  (podiums to starts ratio 42.7%)
DNF's: 29  (DNF's to starts ratio 38.7 %)
Points scored: 378  (manufacturer championship points)
Avg points per rally: 11.1  
Technical data
Group and class A8
Location: Front transverse
Turbo: Yes
Cylinders: 4 in line
Valves: 16
Bore x stroke: 86.0 x 86.0 mm
Cubic capacity: 1998 cc
Power: 295 hp
Torque: 380 Nm
Compression ratio: 8.5:1
Length: 4365 mm
Width: 1710 mm
Height: 1300 mm
Wheelbase: 2525 mm
Front track: 1510 mm
Rear track: 1510 mm
Weight: 1100 kg
Drive: 4WD
Gears: 6
Sequential: No
Clutch plates: 2
Toyota Celica GT-4 (ST165)
(Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window)
Toyota Celica GT-4 (ST165) Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window