Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
  Season 1982
  Season 1983
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
  Season 1996
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
    WRC Calendar
    Rule changes
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
  Season 2011
  Season 2012
  Season 2013
  Season 2014
  Season 2015
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
  Season 2018
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 2004
From the outset 2004 was Loeb's show. Wins in Monte Carlo and Sweden powered frenchman to championship lead which he never lost. During the year four further wins followed and besides the championship points, the important thing for Sebastien were the three wins on gravel.

For Citroen it was not just the wins but more importantly the incredible consistency of their car and drivers. Citroen scored with both of their cars in all but four occasions out of 31 starts, last non-score was because Sainz did not start Australia at all.

For a first time calendar was expanded beyond 14 events, much to distress of many teams which complained about tightened schedules and additional expenses. New events themselves, Mexico and Japan, were success and added colour to the championship.

Rule changes included number of important changes like ban on gravel crews (this was later reversed for tarmac events), supe-rally experiment where retired crews were able to rejoin the rally, flexi service and remote tyre and refuel zones.

New cars
Most teams presented 2004 versions of their cars but the only really new cars were Peugeot 307WRC and Mitsubishi Lancer WRC04.

Peugeot 307WRC debuted in Monte Carlo and caused various problems for the championship winning team through-out the season. Most controversial was disqualification after win in Cyprus because impeller material on water pump was in breach of regulations, slightly but still.

Also new Lancer debuted in Monte Carlo and caused at least as many headaches for the team as 307WRC did. Nevertheless, restructured team learned a lot and subsequently have committed to 2005 championship.

2004 champions
(Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window)
2004 FIA World Rally Champions, Sebastien Loeb and Daniel Elena. Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window
Drivers scoring their
first win
  no new winners
first drivers' point
  H. Solberg (Sweden)
  D. Carlsson (Sweden)
  J. Valimaki (Mexico)
  M. Campos (Cyprus)
  A. Warmbold (Turkey)
  L. Perez Companc (Argentina)
  J. Paasonen (Finland)
  G. Galli (Sardinia)
  S. Sarrazin (Corsica)
  D. Sola (Catalunya)
  C. Crocker (Australia)
  X. Pons (Australia)
  C. Atkinson (Australia)
first stage win
  C. Robert (Deutschland)
  S. Sarrazin (Catalunya)