Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
  Season 1982
  Season 1983
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
    WRC Calendar
    Rule changes
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
  Season 1996
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
  Season 2011
  Season 2012
  Season 2013
  Season 2014
  Season 2015
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
  Season 2018
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 1995
Controversial season
1995 season saw more drama than most seasons before it or since. The single biggest news was Toyota's illegal turbo which saw team banned from WRC for 1996 season. Team orders boiled over twice in different teams, at Mitsubishi in Sweden between Tommi Makinen and Kenneth Eriksson and later at Subaru in Catalunya between Colin McRae and Carlos Sainz. And finally there was the Ford's decision to move rallying from Boreham to RAS at Belgium and disastrous season for the team.

The second year of rotational calendar saw number of events plunge to lowest since oil-crisis ridden 1974.

In order to cap the improved performance of the rally cars, FIA reduced the diameter of the mandatory turbo restrictor from 38mm to 34mm. Reduction itself had been anticipated but most had believed that reduction would be just two millimeters, as it had been last time. This caught some teams unaware.

Another change was a switch to more complicated scoring scheme in manufacturers championship. Positive part was that two cars scored for the manufacturer, less positive change was the fore-mentioned complexity.

New cars
Only one new car was introduced, Mitsubishi's Lancer Evo III which went into action in Corsica. Other teams relied on their existing material even though Toyota's Celica ST205 was relatively new and constant source of agony for the team.

Colin McRae
1995 FIA World Rally Champion, Colin McRae
Drivers scoring their
first win
  no new winners
first drivers' point
  P. Camandona (Monte Carlo)
  A. Navarra (Catalunya)
  J. Bassas (Catalunya)
  I. Postel (Catalunya)
  M. Kamioka (Great Britain)
first stage win
  T. Radstrom (Sweden)
  T. Jansson (Sweden)