Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
  Season 1982
  Season 1983
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
    WRC Calendar
    Rule changes
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
      Points finishes
      Stage wins
      Rally leaders
      Event statistics
      Stage statistics
      Entry statistics
  Season 1996
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
  Season 2011
  Season 2012
  Season 2013
  Season 2014
  Season 2015
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
  Season 2018
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 1995 > Season statistics
Interesting season
Before fateful Catalunya Rally, Kankkunen was leading the drivers' championship even if he had not won a single event during the season. And it is equally curious that after that Catalunya rally, Sainz had three wins to Colin's one and still these two drivers had equal points.
Podiums and points
But at the end of the season podium and points finish statistics indicated why McRae became champion instead as he scored one podium finish more than the other two. Note that points finish statistics show zero for Toyota drivers because their points were later taken away.
Leaders and others
Having said that, it is interesting to note that Colin McRae won more stages than anyone but it was Kankkunen who led rallies for longest. This was because Colin often took lead in the last minute or had to fight back after problems.
In the absence of 1000 Lakes from the series, New Zealand had the fastest stages during the year. Great Britain used one exceptionally demanding stage, almost 60 kilometer long Pundershaw.