Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
    WRC calendar
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
  Season 1982
  Season 1983
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
  Season 1996
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
  Season 2011
  Season 2012
  Season 2013
  Season 2014
  Season 2015
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
  Season 2018
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 1978
Italian domination continues
In previous season Fiat had only narrowly beaten Ford for the manufacturer's title. Italians were accustomed to good results and had decided to leave nothing to a chance for 1978. Team went to a great lengths to ensure their success, increasing almost everything but number of employed drivers. Walter Rohrl spearheaded the assault, taking most starts for Fiat.

He was ably supported by Markku Alen who outscored the german but interestingly enough, also worked against Fiat in a sense. Alen had not been entered to San Remo Rally by Fiat rather than by Lancia and suprisingly he went on to win the event ahead of official Fiat cars, thus depriving Fiat of maximum score. Fiat had control over Lancia and could have introduced team orders but they were also committed to winning FIA Cup for Alen so they did not intervene.

But life goes on elsewhere too
Yes, Fiat won the manufactuers title. Yes, Alen won the FIA Cup for Drivers. But behind these, life and rallying took place. Besides the story of Alen's San Remo win, there was similar story with Jean-Pierre Nicolas. He was official Peugeot driver but won Monte Carlo in privately entered Porsche and contested also in Ford (3rd in Portugal), Citroen and Opel besides his two wins with Peugeot 504.

Wet Safari
(Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window)
Is it a boat? No, it's Nicolas' Peugeot 504 during wet Safari. Car looks remarkably unscathed if compared to what it looked like at finish. Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window
Drivers scoring their
first win
  no new winners
first stage win
  G. Frequelin (Monte Carlo)
  L. Carlsson (Monte Carlo)
  S. Mehta (Acropolis)
  A. Markouizos (Acropolis)
  J. Perusse (Canada - Quebec)
  A. Vudafieri (San Remo)
  A. Brambilla (San Remo)
  C. Gardavot (San Remo)
  B. Danielsson (Great Britain)
  F. Tabaton (Great Britain)
  J. Taylor (Great Britain)