Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
    Rally Codasur 1980
    Rally Codasur 1981
    Rally Argentina 1983
    Rally Argentina 1984
    Rally Argentina 1985
    Rally Argentina 1986
    Rally Argentina 1987
    Rally Argentina 1988
    Rally Argentina 1989
    Rally Argentina 1990
    Rally Argentina 1991
    Rally Argentina 1992
    Rally Argentina 1993
    Rally Argentina 1994
    Rally Argentina 1996
    Rally Argentina 1997
    Rally Argentina 1998
    Rally Argentina 1999
    Rally Argentina 2000
    Rally Argentina 2001
    Rally Argentina 2002
      Entry list
      Stage winners
      Final results
      Championship points
    Rally Argentina 2003
    Rally Argentina 2004
    Rally Argentina 2005
    Rally Argentina 2006
    Rally Argentina 2007
    Rally Argentina 2008
    Rally Argentina 2009
    Rally Argentina 2011
    Rally Argentina 2012
    Rally Argentina 2013
    Rally Argentina 2014
    Rally Argentina 2015
    Rally Argentina 2016
    Rally Argentina 2017
    Rally Argentina 2018
    Rally Argentina 2019
  Canada - Quebec
  Canada - Rideau Lakes
  Central Eur. Rally
  Great Britain
  Ivory Coast
  Monte Carlo
  New Zealand
  San Remo
  USA - Olympus
  USA - Press on Regard.
  Home > Rallies > Argentina > Rally Argentina 2002
What a mess
Already before rally began there were ominous signs in the air. Argentinian economy had never been very strong and after peso was floated in February 2002, consumer prices rose sharply leading to social unrest. Even so that during recce team members of Mitsubishi Ralliart and Channel 4 commentator Robbie Head were robbed at gun-point while on lunch on a local restaurant. Authorities stepped in with force and rest of the rally was strictly policed by both police and military.

Next shock came Sunday morning when rally leader Gronholm had problems starting his car from parc ferme. New "one kilometer rule" had been introduced to remove any doubt whether team members close to a car were only observing or actually helping. Peugeot was summoned before stewards and after the final stage had been completed, Marcus was excluded.

It was Richard Burns that inherited the win and went to spray champagne from the podium only to find out next morning that he too had been excluded. Scrutineers had found out that flywheel of Burns' Peugeot 206WRC was 20g underweight and win went to surprised Carlos Sainz.

Championship status
Rally Argentina 2002 counts for:

2002 FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers/Co-drivers
2002 FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers
2002 FIA World Rally Championship of Production Cars (for drivers)

 353rd WRC rally 
 Round of season: 6 of 14 
 Official name: Rally Argentina 
 Edition: 22nd 
 Date: from Thursday 16-May-2002 to Sunday 19-May-2002 
 Surface: Gravel 
 Entries: 81  
 Starters: 68  
 Finishers: 29 (42.6% of starters) 
 Stages: 22 
 Shortest: 3.44km(SS4 Pro-Racing - Lane A - 1)
 Longest: 28.83km(SS18 Ascochinga 2)
 Slowest: 68.17km/h(SS8 La Cumbre 1)
 Fastest: 121.73km/h(SS21 Cura Brochero)
 Planned stage distance: 381.45km(26.7% of total distance)
 Actual stage distance: 358.43km(25.1% of total distance)
 Road section distance: 1,068.96km
 Total distance: 1,427.39km
    Win was 24th win and 81st podium for Carlos Sainz.
 Second place was 2nd podium for Petter Solberg. 
 Third place was 39th podium for Colin McRae. 
    Win was 41st win and win and third place were 157th to 158th podiums for Ford.
    Second place was 86th podium for Subaru.
(Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window)
Eventual winner Carlos Sainz. Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window
burns on podium
(Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window)
It is all smiles before exclusion. Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window
Related links
Cyprus Rally 2002
Acropolis 2002