Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
  Season 1982
  Season 1983
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
  Season 1996
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
    WRC Calendar
    Rule changes
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
      Points finishes
      Stage wins
      Rally leaders
      Event statistics
      Stage statistics
      Entry statistics
  Season 2011
  Season 2012
  Season 2013
  Season 2014
  Season 2015
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
  Season 2018
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 2010 > Season statistics
To Loeb or not to Loeb
Sebastien Loeb was once again the winningest driver of the season, racking up one more win than in 2009. In the challenger department both Jari-Matti Latvala and season's revelation Sebastien Ogier scored two wins while Mikko Hirvonen managed only one win.

Loeb was on podium on all rallies except one whereas last year's podium master Hirvonen had a terrible season and managed only two, worst score of all podium finishers. Ahead of youngsters Latvala and Ogier, veteran Petter Solberg was rejuvenated and scored impressive eight podium finishes.
Points make no point
In points scoring department the new "points for top-10" rule meant that scoring was easier than previously. Thus, Loeb had 100% scoring record and Latvala, Ogier and Petter Solberg all managed to score in all but one of the season's rallies.
Stage wins and leaders
In proportion, Loeb won as many of the stages as he had in 2009. But last year's number two in terms of stage wins, Mikko Hirvonen, traded places with Petter Solberg who was second in 2010 and had been sixth in 2009. Overall, Mikko's bad season and both Petter's and Ogier's rise meant that Ford drivers managed to win only one out of five stages during the season.

Same abysmal distinction is evident in rally leaders statistics with Ford maintaining rally lead only in one out of five stages. Interestingly enough, Ogier was more often in the lead than for example Petter Solberg, who outscored young Frenchman in number of podium and stage wins.
Finland was the fastest rally but with absence of Cyprus, the slowest rally of the season was Jordan. Although rally lengths were meant to increase with new route rules but in fact the spread increased as two shortest rallies of the season were shorter than in 2009 and two longest rallies were longer than in 2010. Number of entrants was slightly up, the most popular of the rallies almost reaching 100 entries.

Stage lengths also crept up a bit with three rallies having stages over 40 kilometers long. In top ten fastest stages there were one stage from Turkey and one from Jordan, Finland taking up the rest. Slowest and shortest stages were almost exclusively spectator super specials.

Ford overtook Mitsubishi as the most popular rally car while Finland and United Kingdom remained the most numerous nationalities for entrants.
Sebastien Loeb
(Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window)
Sebastien Loeb was the statistics king of the season, once again. Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window