Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
  Season 1982
  Season 1983
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
  Season 1996
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
    WRC Calendar
    Rule changes
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
  Season 2011
  Season 2012
  Season 2013
  Season 2014
  Season 2015
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
  Season 2018
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 2010 > Rule changes
Rule changes for 2010
CalendarCalendar is increased to 13 events (from 12 events) and with only Portugal, Finland, Catalunya and Great Britain carried over from 2009 season. Sweden, Mexico, Jordan, Turkey, New Zealand, Deutschland, Japan and Corsica all make comeback while Bulgaria enters as a new event.
S2000 Cup
Super 2000 CupNew cup is formed, officially named as FIA World Rally Championship Cup (for S2000 teams). It's similar to PWRC and JWRC championships - teams can count seven out of ten selected rounds towards their championship score and must start twice outside Europe.
Championship pointsPoints scoring changed to:
1st = 25 pts
2nd = 18 pts
3rd = 15 pts
4th = 12 pts
5th = 10 pts
6th = 8 pts
7th = 6 pts
8th = 4 pts
9th = 2 pts
10th = 1 pt
Eligible carsCars eligible to score points in the Manufacturers' Championship will include the present (the original WRCar formula) and future World Rally Cars (S2000-based WRCars), and Super 2000 cars.
Rally length increaseThe total length of the special stages is increased to maximum of 500 km (was 400 kilometers). Also, minimum and maximum limitations for individual stages are dropped, instead a limit of maximum of 80 kilometers of stages between service halts is introduced.
Night stages allowedSubject to satisfactory levels of safety, night stages are permitted but must not form the whole itinerary of the day. Previously, night stages were permitted only if special dispensation was granted by FIA.
Maximum latenessThe maximum lateness between two time controls has been extended from 15 to 30 minutes. However the lateness for the day remains at 30 minutes.
Co-driver namesThe name of the co-driver is again permitted to be included on the rear side windows of cars. Became effective from 2010 Bulgaria onwards.
New World Rally CarsThe new technical regulations for the future World Rally Car will become effective from 2011. The WRC Car will be based on the current Super 2000 and Group N cars, fitted with a supplementary kit, which includes turbo and rear-wing additions. The kit must be able to be fitted or removed within a defined time limit, to be determined.

The current World Rally Car regulations will be extended to include the 2010 World Rally Championship, subject to technical controls. The new World Rally Car will be permitted to compete from 2009 and score points in the Championship from 2010.
Co-driver names are back
(Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window)
From 2010 Bulgaria onwards, co-driver names were back on the rear windows. Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window