Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
  Season 1982
  Season 1983
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
  Season 1996
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
  Season 2011
  Season 2012
    WRC Calendar
    Rule changes
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
  Season 2013
  Season 2014
  Season 2015
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
  Season 2018
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 2012 > Rule changes
Rule changes for 2012
CalendarMonte Carlo makes a return to WRC and replaces Jordan.
Start orderOn gravel rallies, shakedown will be used as a qualifying stage to determine the start order. Officially, this is known as "Free Practice and Qualifying Stage". Each cew is allowed two practice runs over two hours before qualifying begins. Each driver then starts the qualifying run in championship order and with two minute interval, just like ordinary special stages. Taking into account the qualifying times, crews will be permitted to select their start positions in order of fastest to slowest. In subsequent day crews will restart in reverse order. This rule only applies to Priority 1 and 2 drivers.
Optional super-rallyInstead of being standard rule for all events, each event will now be allowed to specify whether cars are permitted to re-start after retirement (so-called super-rally rule).
TimingFor the Qualifying Stage and the Power Stage, timing will be to a thousandth of a second (was: tenth of a second).
Manufacturer registrationIn the first Championship year of homologation, a new manufacturer may register as a WRC Team and score Manufacturers’ points on a maximum of seven nominated rallies.
Priority status rule changedPriority 1 drivers are those in World Rally Cars who have been nominated by a registered Manufacturer or WRC Team for the purpose of scoring points for the FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers, or have been entered by a Manufacturer or WRC Team but not for scoring points in the Manufacturers’ Championship (new ruling). A driver may also be awarded P1 status if they have been classified among the first 10 in a World Championship rally during one of the two previous Championship years or during the current Championship year (unchanged ruling).
Drivers license requiredThroughout the rally, both crew members must have a valid driving licence.