Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
  Season 1982
  Season 1983
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
  Season 1996
    WRC Calendar
    Rule changes
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
      Points finishes
      Stage wins
      Rally leaders
      Event statistics
      Stage statistics
      Entry statistics
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
  Season 2011
  Season 2012
  Season 2013
  Season 2014
  Season 2015
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
  Season 2018
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 1996 > Season statistics
Though both McRae and Sainz won events too in 1996, this was purely Makinen's year. After just seven rounds into nine event championship, he had already won five events and made sure of the title. Even if Tommi didn't score further wins, he became first driver to win more than half of the events in a season.
Podiums and points
Despite Tommi's superior win statistics, in podium finishes Carlos Sainz equals him and in points finishes Kenneth Eriksson exceeds him. The latter despite Kenneth had to get to know new team and new car. Interestingly, Kenneth's good points finish record is not evident in championship charts.
Fastest and leaders
Makinen's domination also comes through in stage wins and stages in the lead statistics. Equally evident is Mitsubishi's reliance on him, only one stage win scored by the team was someone else than the Finn.
Attrition ratio and speed
It is interesting to note that the three fastest rallies; Safari, Finland and Sweden, are at the opposite ends of the scale if measured by attrition ratio.
Tommi Makinen
(Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window)
Five wins, including this one at Safari, made Makinen undisputed champion. Along the way, Tommi won one third of all stages during the year. Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window