Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
  Season 1982
  Season 1983
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
  Season 1996
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
    WRC Calendar
    Rule changes
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
      Points finishes
      Stage wins
      Rally leaders
      Event statistics
      Stage statistics
      Entry statistics
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
  Season 2011
  Season 2012
  Season 2013
  Season 2014
  Season 2015
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
  Season 2018
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 2008 > Season statistics
In terms of wins, in 2008 Loeb was in a league of his own. Surpassing his own earlier record of ten wins in a single season (despite having one less round to accomplish that), Sebastien won three out of four events - an astonishing performance.
Podiums and points
Even though Hirvonen lost the championship race to Loeb's superior winning-rate, Mikko was able to finish all of the season's rallies and be everytime on points scoring position every time. Unfortunately for him, he was less often on podium than Sebastien, who failed to take a medal only twice - on both occasions due to a retirement.
In unreliability department Suzuki and Ford were in a class of their own. Suzuki's cars retired more often than all the other works team cars put together - though this is perfectly understandable for a new car. At the other end of the spectrum Ford their car only once.
On stages
On stage wins Loeb has a clear lead as he won over twice as many stages as next fastest rival. Interestingly, in Ford-team Latvala won more stages than his more experienced team-mate Hirvonen (52 to 45). In rally leader statistics Loeb is even more dominating as he led for over 53% worth of stages during the year. Interestingly, that's substantially less than his win-rate, proving the effect of road position rules and subsequent tactical games.
Finland was again fastest event despite slight reduction in average speed and Turkey, which returned to series, was slowest. Great Britain suffered from demanding conditions, which saw route cut to shortest of the year and second highest attrition ratio. Longest stage of the season was held in new event of Jordan, which had the only stage over 40 kilometers this season.
Mitsubishi retained the honor of being the most numerous car on entry list. Italians were the most numerous nationality, whereas drivers from United Kingdom suffered biggest drop in numbers (down from being clearly biggest group in 2007 to just fourth this year).

Overall, number of entries during the year was well over ten percent lower than in 2007. This was partly due to smaller calendar (by one event) but mainly because of the financial turmoil around the world.
Sebastien Loeb
(Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window)
Sebastien Loeb surpassed many records in 2008: fifth title, 11 rallies won in a single season et cetera. Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window