Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
  Season 1982
  Season 1983
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
  Season 1996
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
  Season 2011
  Season 2012
  Season 2013
  Season 2014
  Season 2015
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
  Season 2018
    WRC Calendar
    Rule changes
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
      Points finishes
      Stage wins
      Rally leaders
      Event statistics
      Stage statistics
      Entry statistics
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 2018 > Season statistics
Shared glory
Last year I wrote how Neuville was on the rise, winning more than anyone else. This year his score was again good but both Ogier and new challenger Ott Tanak scored more wins, four each. While Ogier carried M-Sport Ford's colors alone, Toyota benefited from both Tanak and Latvala to claim most wins by a team.

Last year there were many different winners whereas this year every single one of the each team's wins were scored by single one of the team's drivers - except the forementioned Latvala's win. Hopefully this doesn't mean a boring years to come.

In podium category those same three drivers dominate, each claiming six podiums. Toyota's strength is proven by the fact that behind them, next most podiums went to team's other drivers Latvala and Lappi.
Points and retirements
Championship contenders Ogier and Neuville both retired once and thus had equal scoring ratio of 12 out of 13. As Ogier managed to finish on higher average position, he managed to outscore and claim the title.

In retirements, the worst off was Toyota which is surprising because they won the manufacturers' title rather convincingly. Their worst luck again befell on Latvala, who had three DNF's to his name and unfortunately in drivers' title race also Tanak retired twice.
Tanak territory
When we move on to stage winners and rally leaders, things change and may paint interesting picture for upcoming 2019 season. Driver with most stage wins and most stages in rally lead is, by a clear margin, Toyota's Ott Tanak. His score is amazing and quite dominant, but yet shy of the records Ogier set during his tenure at Volkswagen or Loeb earlier with Citroen.

Bearing in mind that Ogier and Tanak won as many events it is interesting to note that Tanak led way more often. He often led early on before encountering problems - or even retiring from the lead.

Citroen's plight - and weak lineup - shows with their modest results in both categories.
Events and entries
Average speeds crept down across the board but as always, Finland kept the top spot as fastest rally. Turkey made return to the series and claimed the title of being the slowest rally.

Both stage mileage and number of competitors were slightly higher than previously but change is minuscule. Longest stages were cut down, only one exceeded 50 km mark and another came near it, incidentally both were Corsican stages.

Ford's status as the most widely used make continued as before while Skoda improved their popularity to claim the second spot. French were the most numerous nationality with United Kingdom distant second, as before.

Tanak the stat king
(Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window)
Tanak's season was good which shows in some but unfortunately not in every category of statistics. If his form for 2018 is anything to go by, things may be different for next season. Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window