Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Canada - Quebec
  Canada - Rideau Lakes
    Rally Catalunya 1991
    Rally Catalunya 1992
    Rally Catalunya 1993
    Rally Catalunya 1995
    Rally Catalunya 1996
    Rally Catalunya 1997
      Entry list
      Stage winners
      Final results
      Championship points
    Rally Catalunya 1998
    Rally Catalunya 1999
    Rally Catalunya 2000
    Rally Catalunya 2001
    Rally Catalunya 2002
    Rally Catalunya 2003
    Rally Catalunya 2004
    Rally Catalunya 2005
    Rally Catalunya 2006
    Rally Catalunya 2007
    Rally Catalunya 2008
    Rally Catalunya 2009
    Rally Catalunya 2010
    Rally Catalunya 2011
    Rally Catalunya 2012
    Rally Catalunya 2013
    Rally Catalunya 2014
    Rally Catalunya 2015
    Rally Catalunya 2016
    Rally Catalunya 2017
    Rally Catalunya 2018
    Rally Catalunya 2019
    Rally Catalunya 2021
    Rally Catalunya 2022
  Central Eur. Rally
  Great Britain
  Ivory Coast
  Monte Carlo
  New Zealand
  San Remo
  USA - Olympus
  USA - Press on Regard.
  Home > Rallies > Catalunya > Rally Catalunya 1997 > Final results
Final results
 Pos  Nr  Driver/Car  Nat   Gr  Time  Pen. 
 1st  1  Makinen, Tommi
 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IV
   FI   A8    4h 08m 46s    --:-- 
 2nd  4  Liatti, Piero
 Subaru Impreza WRC97
   IT   A8    +7s    --:-- 
 3rd  11  Panizzi, Gilles
 Peugeot 306 Maxi
   FR   A7    +3m 09s    --:-- 
 4th  3  McRae, Colin
 Subaru Impreza WRC97
   GB   A8    +3m 34s    --:-- 
 5th  14  Medeghini, Angelo
 Subaru Impreza 555
   IT   A8    +5m 05s    --:-- 
 6th  7  Madeira, Rui
 Subaru Impreza 555
   PT   A8    +6m 26s    --:-- 
 7th  16  Azcona, Jaime
 Peugeot 306 Maxi
   ES   A7    +7m 42s    --:-- 
 8th  2  Nittel, Uwe
 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo III
   DE   A8    +8m 39s    --:-- 
 9th  20  Sperrer, Raphael
 Renault Megane
   AT   A7    +9m 46s    --:-- 
 10th  5  Sainz, Carlos
 Ford Escort WRC
   ES   A8    +9m 57s    --:-- 
 11th  19  Sufan, Raul
 Toyota Celica GT-Four (ST205)
   AR   A8    +16m 32s    --:-- 
 12th  21  Alonso, Daniel
 Ford Escort RS2000
   ES   A7    +21m 39s    1:00 
 13th  24  Trelles, Gustavo
 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo III
   UY   N4    +22m 29s    --:-- 
 14th  29  Fuster, Miguel
 Peugeot 106
   ES   A6    +28m 12s    0:10 
 15th  27  Fidanza, Antonello
 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo III
   IT   N4    +31m 51s    --:-- 
 16th  67  Nafria, David
 Peugeot 106
   ES   N2    +37m 29s    --:-- 
 17th  63  Grino, Jordi
 Peugeot 106
   ES   N2    +37m 32s    --:-- 
 18th  25  Stohl, Manfred
 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo III
   AT   N4    +38m 18s    2:10 
 19th  62  Vidal, Amador
 Peugeot 106
   ES   N2    +42m 52s    1:00 
 20th  33  Koopal, Francois
 Renault Clio Williams
   NL   A7    +44m 03s    0:20 
 21st  60  Sanfilippo, Ignacio
 Peugeot 106
   ES   N2    +48m 17s    1:00 
 22nd  64  Zubillaga, Aitor
 Peugeot 106
   ES   N2    +50m 13s    1:10 
 23rd  39  Freire, Paulo
 Toyota Celica
   PT   N4    +55m 11s    --:-- 
 24th  40  Kahlfuss, Michael
 Toyota Celica GT-Four (ST205)
   DE   N4    +55m 35s    --:-- 
 25th  69  Thiery, Joel
 Citroen AX
   FR   N2    +1h 00m 24s    --:-- 
 26th  56  Gallen, Benet
 Seat Ibiza
   ES   A7    +1h 04m 05s    0:10 
 27th  55  Nicolas, Josep
 Seat Ibiza
   ES   A7    +1h 06m 01s    --:-- 
 28th  78  Tapia, Ramon
 Peugeot 106
   ES   N1    +1h 09m 39s    0:10 
 29th  53  Amador, Juan
 Renault Clio
   VE   N3    +1h 41m 29s    0:10 
 30th  65  Poza, Alfonso
 Peugeot 106
   ES   N2    +1h 49m 27s    0:50 
 Nr  Driver/Car  Nat   Gr   Control   Reason 
 6  Schwarz, Armin
 Ford Escort WRC
   DE   A8   SS9  retired
 8  Delecour, Francois
 Peugeot 306 Maxi
   FR   A7   TC18C  withdrew
  see note (right)
 9  Thiry, Bruno
 Seat Ibiza GTi 16V
   BE   A7   SS4  retired
 12  Gomez Marco, Oriol
 Seat Ibiza GTi 16V
   ES   A7   SS5  retired
 15  Puras, Jesus
 Citroen ZX 16S
   ES   A7   TC1A  retired
  front suspension
 17  Rovanpera, Harri
 Seat Ibiza GTi 16V
   FI   A7   SS9  retired
 18  Martinez-Conde, Miguel
 Renault Megane
   ES   A7   SS18  retired
 22  Sibera, Pavel
 Skoda Felicia Kit-Car
   CZ   A6   SS6  retired
 23  Triner, Emil
 Skoda Felicia Kit-Car
   CZ   A6   SS8  retired
  lost wheel
 26  Climent, Luis
 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo III
   ES   N4   SS18  retired
 28  Colard, Pierre
 Subaru Impreza 555
   FR   A8   SS4  retired
 32  Guixeras, David
 Peugeot 106
   ES   A6   SS4  retired
 34  Ballestin, Artemio
 Fiat Bravo HGT
   IT   A7   SS6  retired
 70  Blazquez, Marc
 Peugeot 106
   ES   N2   SS7  retired
  did not restart
 73  Sola, Daniel
 Peugeot 106
   ES   N1   SS7  retired
  did not restart
Roll of Honour
Overall winner
   Tommi Makinen
Winning manufacturer
Group N winner
   Gustavo Trelles
Production Cup winner
   Gustavo Trelles
2l Cup Winner
   Peugeot (G. Panizzi)
Francois Delecour (Peugeot) had trouble getting engine restarted at parc ferme for Leg 3. Car was pushed out and he drove through all the stages, finishing on fifth place in provisional standings. However, assistance was illegal and Peugeot withdrew the car in order not be excluded.