Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
  Season 1982
  Season 1983
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
  Season 1996
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
  Season 2011
    WRC Calendar
    Rule changes
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
      Points finishes
      Stage wins
      Rally leaders
      Event statistics
      Stage statistics
      Entry statistics
  Season 2012
  Season 2013
  Season 2014
  Season 2015
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
  Season 2018
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 2011 > Season statistics
Loeb and Ogier
In terms of rally wins, both Citroen drivers Loeb and Ogier won as many events. For Citroen this was an excellent result but it's Loeb's lowest score since 2003. Loeb still scored most podium finishes whereas both Ford drivers scored one less each. For Hirvonen this was great comeback from abysmal 2010 score.

In interesting comparison to earlier year, the four works drivers of Citroen and Ford were in a category of their own. Privateer Petter Solberg managed only two, being equaled by Mini's Dani Sordo and his compatriot at Stobart Ford's, young Mads Ostberg.
No perfect points score
Nobody managed perfect points scoring record, as all top drivers either retired or finished outside top-10 at least one. Closest were both Ford drivers, each racked points in all but one rally each. Admittedly, Latvala's score was saved by his Power Stage win in Sardinia as he was twice outside top-10.

Although Petter Solberg didn't reach podium so often, he was very consistent points scorer. At Mini things were different. Dani Sordo finished all but one of his outings whereas Kris Meeke finished only twice. Thus it was Mini that scored most retirements as a team despite contesting only handful of rounds.
Stage wins and leaders
For the first time since Loeb's semi-private season of 2006 he didn't win most of the stages during the season. This honor went to Jari-Matti Latvala with Sebastien Ogier a close third. Loeb did score most stages in rally lead although here team-mate Ogier was close in his heels. It's also notable that list of drivers that were able to take the lead was much longer than in previous year, including rare names like P-G Andersson and Jari Ketomaa, but also Sordo in brand new Mini.
Finland retained the title of fastest rally with handsome margin while Acropolis was slowest this year. Season saw no increase in rally lengths but at least the trend of diminishing distance did not continue. Number of entries dropped a little as three events had less than 30 entrants. Attrition ratio was abnormally high on those rallies that counted towards WRC Academy as those competitors did not compete third day and were thus listed as non-finishers.

Long stages remained in favour, again three stages exceeding 40 kilometers and shortest almost all were super specials. Average speeds remained between 130 and 120 km/h in nine out of ten fastest stages, of which one was in Australia and one in Alsace besides the normally fastest Finnish stages.

Top four of most numerous makes were still Ford, Mitsubishi, Citroen and Subaru although number of Fords increased considerably. Finland and United Kingdom were still the two most numerous nationalities amongs the cews but number of French crews kept steady enough to take the third slot.
Jari-Matti Latvala
(Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window)
Latvala gave one win and several other positions to help Hirvonen in championship fight. But he won the most stages during the season. Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window