Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
  Season 1982
  Season 1983
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
  Season 1996
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
  Season 2011
  Season 2012
  Season 2013
  Season 2014
  Season 2015
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
    WRC Calendar
    Rule changes
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
  Season 2018
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 2017 > Rule changes
Rule changes for 2017
Manufacturer entriesManufacturer may enter two or three cars (was two) for the purpose of scoring points in the Manufacturer’s Championship but only two best will score championship points.
Drivers eligible to drive 2017 WRCarsOnly drivers entered by manufacturers are eligible to drive 2017 World Rally Cars, with the approval of the FIA.
Driver nominationTo provide the opportunity for more drivers to be nominated, from 2017 manufacturer will not be required to nominate the first driver in its team. Nominations will however still be required by the closing date of entries for each event.
Start orderReversed start order is abandoned and for first day, all cars start according to the actual Championship classification. For subsequent days, P1 drivers start in the reverse order of the rally classification while all other drivers start in the order of the rally classification. Restarting P1 crews start at the end of the P1 group.
Points for power stageChampionship points for power stage is changed to:
1st - 5 points
2nd - 4 points
3rd - 3 points
4th - 2 points
5th - 1 point
Championship pointsShould one of the rallies be unable to run in its entirety, Championship points will be awarded in accordance with the percentage of the scheduled length of special stages run as follows:
-full points if 75% or more
-half points if between 50-75%
-one third points if between 25-50%
-no points if less than 25%.
Championship points (Juniors)For JWRC, competitors score points not only for their respective finishing position but also for stage winner(s), called Stage Points. Such points are not awarded for notional or Rally2 times or for those who jump the start.
Turbo restrictorDiameter of turbo restrictor is increased to 36 mm (was 33mm).
Minimum weightThe minimum weight of the car is reduced (by 25 kilograms) to 1175 kg (was 1200 kg).
Body shell dimensionsWRCar maximum width increases by 55 mm to 1875 mm (was 1820 mm).