Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
  Season 1982
  Season 1983
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
  Season 1996
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
  Season 2011
  Season 2012
  Season 2013
  Season 2014
  Season 2015
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
    WRC Calendar
    Rule changes
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
      Points finishes
      Stage wins
      Rally leaders
      Event statistics
      Stage statistics
      Entry statistics
  Season 2018
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 2017 > Season statistics
Neuville on the rise
For the past four years, Ogier has been quite dominantly the driver with most wins but not so this year. Whether it's down to new team, dwindling interest or just opposition upping their ante, Ogier managed only two wins. The driver to score most wins was Thierry Neuville who scored four times, twice as many as nearest rivals.

Interesting trend that we saw started in 2016 is ever increasing number of winners. In 2017 there were no less than seven different winners which hasn't happened in past 15 years. No fewer than three of these winners were ones scoring their maiden WRC wins (Tanak, Lappi and Evans).

Reason why title went to Ogier instead of Neuville is revealed in number of podiums as Sebastien scored one podium finish more than Thierry. Even that score is in downward trend for him.
One category where Ogier didn't falter was consistency. He scored on all events except one, further underlining why he won the championship. The only other driver to score 12 times was Sordo, whose scoring ratio was perfect 100% as he didn't start in all rallies of the season.

Incidentally, M-Sport's strength is evident in this category as all of their drivers (Ogier, Tanak and Evans) were among the most consistent points scorers.

Retirements statistics tell the bleak story of Citroen's falter. Citroen's cars retired a whopping eight times, five of which befell to Kris Meeke. Toyota and Hyundai fared a little better, but both teams had team member retiring while leading which affected their respective points scores accordingly.
Stage wins and leaders
Even more telling than rally winner statistics is stage winners category. Neuville dominates here as well, with very clear margin while Ogier's score plunged to just third of what he had managed in 2016.

An interesting observation is that both of Ogier's team mates won more stages and led for more stages, yet were outscored in the championship table.

In rally leaders, Neuville holds the top spot. His nearest challenger on this category is again Tanak but third spot goes to Meeke while Ogier manages only 7th best score.
Events and entries
Even with new and more powerful cars, the average speeds didn't change at all. As tradition demands, Finland was fastest rally with Poland and Sweden next up. Mexico was slowest and surprisingly Monte Carlo wasn't that much faster this year.

Rally route length stayed between 300 and 400 kilometers while number of competitors continued to slide downwards and cannot be explained entirely by new regulations.

Longest stages were familiar ones, Mexico's El Chotolat, Corsica's Antisani and Australia's Nambucca all over 50 km mark or at least near it.

Most popular make still is Ford, with considerable margin whereas Citroen's use seemed to be fading, though still second most common make during the season. French were the most common nationality, though there were fewer of them (proportionally as we must bear in mind that number of competitors fell during 2017).
Thierry Neuville
(Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window)
Statistically, Thierry Neuville had best season in almost all other categories except most championship points. He won most rallies and stages, led more - but also made more mistakes. Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window