Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
  Season 1982
  Season 1983
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
  Season 1996
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
  Season 2011
  Season 2012
  Season 2013
  Season 2014
    WRC Calendar
    Rule changes
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
      Points finishes
      Stage wins
      Rally leaders
      Event statistics
      Stage statistics
      Entry statistics
  Season 2015
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
  Season 2018
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 2014 > Season statistics
Ogier dominates
Just like in previous year, Sebastien Ogier is the name that stands first in most categories of statistics in 2014. He won one event less than in 2013, but still that was twice as many wins as the next best, who unsurprisingly was his team-mate. The only non-VW win of the season was the surprise - Thierry Neuville for Hyundai.

In terms of podium finishes, Latvala closed the gap to Ogier from last year but Ogier still was the only one to score podiums measured in double digits. Behind them third VW driver Mikkelsen was also third best podium scorer, huge improvement as his first podium finish was during this season.
Back to normal
Unlike in 2013, no driver scored points in every round this year. Both Ogier and Latvala came close but for both the DNF from Rally Deutschland tarnished their record. Old hand Hirvonen and young gun Mikkelsen both were close but both failed to score twice.

In actual retirements, there is one name above all others - Robert Kubica. In teams' category, Citroen suffered from more retirements than newcomer Hyundai, losing both Meeke and Ostberg three times during the season.
Who is fastest
The biggest eye-opener comes in stage win and rally leader statistics. 2013 was Ogier's dominance all across the board and so would 2014 seem to be - except. Firstly, Ogier won more stages than anyone else and only 17 stages less than in previous year and Latvala was second to his team-mate also this year. But whereas in 2013, when Latvala managed only one fourth of Ogier's score, in 2014 he was only nine stage wins short of him. Adding Mikkelsen to this means that Volkswagen won well over three out of four stages during the season.

In rally leader statistics same phenomena is evident. Ogier is clearly the best, Latvala improves three-fold from last year and VW dominated by leading almost all the way, leaving only scraps to other teams.
Events and entries
Nature of events remained stable. Finland was again clearly fastest event with Poland and Alsace rounding up the top three. Argentina was slowest and also with the longest route and the only one exceeding 400 kilometers of stages this year. Alsace, Australia and Great Britain were shortest, just a few kilometers over 300 km limit.

There was slight upturn in number of entries during 2014 though no one event had clearly greater number of competitors. Three far-away events Mexico, Argentina and Australia had fewest, as usual.

Season's longest stage was held this year in Sardinia and fastest in - surprise surprise - Poland. Most numerous make was Ford, for fifth year running, and most numerous nationality of competitors was France, for third year running.
Sebastien Ogier
(Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window)
2014 saw Ogier again dominate most statistical categories. Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window